1st Time

This was the 1st time that we met.
You arrived late.
I waited patiently.
You looked relaxed.
I was nervous.

This was the 1st time we held hands.
You casually held my hand in yours.
I wasn’t sure how to react.
You didn’t let go for awhile.
I smiled.

This was the 1st time that we kissed.
You stared into my eyes as if staring into my soul.
I blushed not knowing what to do.
You leaned in.
I closed my eyes.

This was the 1st time that we said, “I love you.”
You said it softly at the end of a conversation.
I wasn’t sure what to say.
You looked at me with the gentleness.
I said, “I love you too.”

This was the 1st time we lost faith.
You wouldn’t admit to your fault.
I asked you to tell me the truth.
You finally admitted your wrongdoings.
I replied that I’d give you a second chance.

This was the 1st time we questioned our trust.
You told me that ya’ll were just friends.
I believed you, but not the other person.
You said that I needed to trust you.
I did, but it was hard to trust fully.

This was the 1st time we moved forward.
You got your promotion at work.
I was happy for you.
You began working more and more.
I supported you.

This was the 1st time we had a big argument.
You were upset with me at something I said.
I just wanted quality time together.
You stopped talking to me for awhile.
I cried, and then stopped trying to contact you.

This was the 1st time we didn’t know what to do.
You couldn’t give me a direct answer.
I didn’t know how to respond.
You kept quiet, and didn’t say anything else.
I suggested some time apart.

This was the 1st time we spent this much time apart.
You wouldn’t call or text like you normally would.
I kept myself busy so I wouldn’t think so much.
You blocked me from a lot of social media.
I just kept quiet and carried on.

2 thoughts on “1st Time

Leave a Reply

